ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UNC: Professor Elected to Board of American Society for Nutrition

Dr. Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, chair of the University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health’s Department of Nutrition, has been elected to the board of directors for the American Society for Nutrition (ASN), the country’s premier nutrition society.

Dr. Mayer-Davis, who is Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor of nutrition and medicine at UNC, will begin her term on the ASN board on July 1.

A member of the UNC faculty since 2008, Dr. Mayer-Davis has focused her career on diabetes, including the epidemiology and natural history of Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes in children and adults. Her research addresses the many ways in which nutrition can have an impact upon the risk for development of diabetes and on the risk of diabetes complications.

An active member of the American Diabetes Association, she was the 2011 President for Health Care and Education for the association. She also serves as an appointee of President Obama on the Advisory Group on Prevention, Health Promotion and Integrative and Public Health.

Read more