ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UTHealth Faculty Member Appointed to El Paso Water Board

Dr. Kristina Mena was sworn in recently as the newest member of the seven-person Public Service Board (PSB) that manages El Paso Water Utilities (EPWU). Dr. Mena is a faculty member and interim regional dean at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) School of Public Health El Paso Regional Campus. The El Paso City Council unanimously voted to appoint Mena to the PSB on December 8, 2015 as the Communications, Public Administration and Education Committee representative.

Kristina Mena
[Photo: Dr. Kristina Mena]

“I am extremely honored to be afforded this opportunity,” said Dr. Mena. “I look forward to serving the PSB and the El Paso community.”

Dr. Mena joins the PSB with 25 years of knowledge and expertise in water quality and environmental science. Her experience at UTHealth School of Public Health is an asset to her in her role on the PSB. In addition to serving as interim dean of the UTHealth School of Public Health El Paso Regional Campus, Mena leads the environmental and occupational health sciences program throughout the School of Public Health’s six campuses.

Dr. Mena is one among a small group of researchers with an expertise in microbial and chemical risk assessment, which evaluates both acute and chronic health outcomes associated with exposure to contaminated water. Her research will be brought to the field as she works toward ensuring safe water quality at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Dr. Mena earned a PhD in environmental microbiology and epidemiology at The University of Arizona; an MSPH at the University of South Florida; and a BA in biology from Franklin College.

Read the story here.