ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UTHealth: Patricia Mullen Awarded Piper Professor Award

From advocating for preconception counseling to trying to improve the futures of women released from jail to training the next generation of public health leaders, Dr. Patricia Dolan Mullen has made an impact on the Houston community and beyond.

In recognition of that work, Dr. Mullen, a professor at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) School of Public Health, has been named a prestigious Piper Professor for 2019 by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation. Dr. Mullen is the ninth faculty member at UTHealth, and third at its School of Public Health, to receive the accolade.

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation, based in San Antonio, was organized in 1950 and is a nonprofit charitable corporation. The late Randall Gordon Piper and his wife, Minnie Stevens Piper, were the principal donors. Ten Piper Professors are selected annually from nominations by colleges and universities across Texas.

Dr. Mullen’s previous accolades include receiving the UTHealth President’s Scholar Award for Teaching, the University of Texas Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award, and being inducted to The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, MD, Academy of Health Science Education.

“Dr. Mullen is an exemplary educator, researcher, and mentor, who has played, and continues to play, a critical role in the success of the School of Public Health,” said Dr. Eric Boerwinkle, dean, M. David Low, Chair in Public Health, and Kozmetsky Family Chair in Human Genetics at UTHealth School of Public Health.

Read more.

Tags: ,