ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UTHealth Professor Awarded 2016 ASPPH Teaching Excellence Award

Dr. L. Kay Bartholomew Eldredge, was awarded, posthumously, the 2016 Teaching Excellence Award from the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH), at the tenth annual John P. McGovern Award Lecture Series in Health Promotion, sponsored by UTHealth School of Public Health’s Center for Health Promotion and Prevention Research.

DrBartholomew Picture2
[Photo: Dr. L. Kay Bartholomew Eldredge]

Dr. Bartholomew Eldredge passed away just a week before she was to receive the award — given annually to faculty for excellence in teaching, research, and mentorship.

In a ceremony honoring her life and work, School of Public Health Dean Eric Boerwinkle, presented the award to School of Public Health dean emeritus Dr. Guy Parcel, who accepted it on behalf of her family.

“For the past 20 years, and during her entire career, Kay Bartholomew Eldredge demonstrated exemplary effectiveness and dedication as a teacher, mentor and academic administrator,” Dean Boerwinkle said. “Kay’s exemplary record of dedication and service to teaching at UTHealth School of Public Health, and on a national and international level, made her highly deserving of the 2016 ASPPH Teaching Excellence award.”

“She was an excellent teacher,” Dr. Parcel said. “What set her apart is that she genuinely cared about every student and wanted to be sure that every student learned from their interaction.”

The ASPPH Teaching Excellence award is designed to bring visibility to an outstanding faculty member, and to serve as a reward for leading students toward distinction in public health research, teaching, and practice.

Dr. Bartholomew Eldredge was professor and distinguished teaching professor in the department of health promotion and behavioral sciences at the School of Public Health. She worked in the field of health education and health promotion since her graduation from Austin College in 1974, first at a city-county health department and later at Texas Children’s Hospital and Baylor College of Medicine.

As the founding developer of “Intervention Mapping,” a systematic framework for planning and implementing theory- and evidence-based health programs, which has been adopted at schools of public health across the U.S. and the world, Dr. Bartholomew Eldredge has demonstrated outstanding dedication to the profession of health promotion, nationally and internationally. In the classroom, she pioneered teaching techniques, including her innovative use of the “flipped classroom,” to prepare public health graduates to integrate theory and evidence into the development, adaptation, and evaluation of health promotion interventions.

Dr. Bartholomew Eldredge was associate dean for academic affairs from 2009-2015, and she was instrumental in shaping academic policy at the School of Public Health. She received numerous awards for teaching excellence, including the ASPPH Teaching Excellence Award, the UTHealth President’s Scholar for Teaching, and The University of Texas System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award. She was a member of The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine M.D. Academy of Health Science Education, and held a special chair (visiting) at the University of Maastricht, the Netherlands. Dr. Bartholomew Eldredge earned her MPH degree from UTHealth School of Public Health and an EdD degree in educational psychology from the University of Houston College of Education.

Dr. Barthlomew Eldredge also received the 2016 John P. McGovern Award, given to distinguished researchers who have made outstanding contributions to the development, implementation, and evaluation of health promotion programs.