ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Vanderbilt: Edwards Receives American Pediatric Society’s Top Award

Dr. Kathryn Edwards, who holds the Sarah H. Sell and Cornelius Vanderbilt Endowed Chair in Pediatrics and is a professor of pediatrics at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, is the recipient of the 2020 John Howland Award, the highest honor given by the American Pediatric Society (APS).

A member of the National Academy of Medicine, Dr. Edwards’ work focuses on the evaluation of vaccines for the prevention of infectious diseases in adults and children. She has led many of the pivotal clinical trials of vaccines licensed in the past several decades and has played a major role in their implementation.

The award, which was created in honor of clinician-scientist Dr. John Howland, will be presented to Dr. Edwards on May 3 during the Pediatric Academic Societies 2020 Meeting in Philadelphia.

“We are delighted to honor Dr. Edwards with the 2020 APS John Howland Award for her significant contributions to pediatrics and vaccinology,” APS president Dr. Robin Steinhorn, said in a prepared statement. “Her work in evaluating the safety and effectiveness of vaccines has made a significant impact on the prevention and management of infectious diseases in children.”

“I am so pleased to be receiving this award,” said Dr. Edwards, who joined the Vanderbilt faculty in 1980. “Previous award winners have been giants in pediatrics. It is such an honor to be named with this group.”

Mentoring young investigators in research also has been a passion, and Dr. Edwards has received mentorship awards from Vanderbilt University Medical Center, the Society for Pediatric Research, and the Infectious Diseases Society of America.

Tags: ,