ASPPH logo




ASPPH 2022 Excellence Award Recipients

Join us in congratulating the 2022 recipients of the prestigious ASPPH Excellence Awards, which recognize public health leaders for their service and achievements in teaching, research, practice, and student services. The award winners will be recognized at our 2022 ASPPH Annual Meeting in March.

2022 Excellence Award Recipients:

Teaching Excellence Award
Catherine Sherwood-Laughlin, HSD, MPH Indiana University School of Public Health – Bloomington

Research Excellence Award
Maria Fernandez, PhD, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) School of Public Health

Practice Excellence Award
Jeni Hebert-Beirne, PhD, MPH, University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health

Student Services Excellence Award
Michael Vega, PhD, MSW, Rutgers School of Public Health

Early Career Teaching Excellence Award
Elizabeth Walker, PhD, MPH, MAT, Emory University Rollins School of Public Health

Early Career Research Excellence Award
Amanda Fretts, PhD, MPH, University of Washington

Welch-Rose Award for Excellence in Academic Public Health Service
Stephen Shortell, PHD, MPH, MBA, UC Berkeley School of Public Health

Welch-Rose Award for Distinction in Public Health
Sara Rosenbaum, JD, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health

We received many impressive nominations this year. Thank you to all the individual nominators and review committee members, and congratulations to this year’s winners. Learn more about the awardees.